Posted by: loveandsplendor | March 10, 2009

early AM adventure: LA flower mart!

I’m fairly predictable when it comes to my sleep patterns. I like to retire between midnight and 2 a.m., and get up around 8-9 a.m. So on any given day, you would be safe to bet that at 4 a.m., I am somewhere deep in dreamland, snuggled under the covers. Well, unless you made that bet last Wednesday. On that particular morning I forsook the warm haven of my bed to meet my very best friend, Kristin of The Treasured Petal, at the LA flower mart! It was not my first time visiting, but I wanted the opportunity to scope out the mart with a seasoned pro. I wanted to see Kris in her element! That and I can never pass up an opportunity to see Krissy, even if it is at 4 a.m. We live nearly 60 miles apart and it is absolutely excruciating!! haha πŸ˜‰

I dressed quickly, grabbing some comfy boots, skinny jeans and a long pima cotton sweater for warmth. It only took 8 minutes for me to get downtown!! Amazing! I looove driving late at night or early in the morning, when it’s dark and quiet and almost otherworldly in the emptiness. I think we’re so used to the hustle and bustle in LA that moments of silence can be uncomfortable. But me? I embrace it. I relish it. I roll down the windows, turn up the music and fly down the road!

After parking (for free!) on a nearby street, I met Krissy at the entrance. We spent nearly 2 hours roaming, inspecting, admiring and purchasing! Kris had a shopping list ready for a small wedding this weekend, and I had my hopes up for finding some fun, colorful blooms for my home. I am no florist and wouldn’t dare try to pass myself off as one, but I have a deep love of flowers and a pretty strong floral knowledge. I know what looks good together and I enjoy assembling my own arrangements for the home. Here’s a photo tour of some beauties that caught my eye!

a blurry pic i snapped as i ran across the street after parking. it’s still dark as night…

beauteous blooms abound everywhere you look!

these picture-perfect anemones made me weak in the knees, and i couldn’t resist taking them home in all 3 colors!

delicate poppies are among my very favorite flowers.

can anyone guess what these tight, creamy white buds are?? no, not ping pong balls on a stem…

purple kale!! be still my heart! i thought this was perfect for one of my brides getting married later this month.

my newest love: acacia! it is absolutely darling with its tiny & furry yellow pom poms. the best thing: no messy pollen like you might expect.

Once we had finished our shopping, we headed to the Flower Mart CafΓ© (formerly Operetta) for breakfast. Well, sort-of breakfast. πŸ˜‰

cute + modern dΓ©cor at the cafe.

One of us opted for a veggie omelet, buttered bagel and water. The other went for a teriyaki carne asada sandwich (yeah, you read that right), served on a croissant (yes, i’m still serious) with fries and a Sunny D. Any guesses on who’s who? HAHA Lizzie, if you are out there reading this… I feel like this is a meal you would have relished with me. πŸ˜‰

7:09a?? really??

kris, looking positively adorable for that early in the AM.

me, looking pale as a ghost with no makeup!

ta-da! one of the arrangements i put together once i got home. happy & beautiful.

As a wedding planner + coordinator, I am exposed to every aspect of the wedding process. I enjoy learning about all the facets of a wedding so joining Kris for this adventure was fun *and* educational. Good times!

Hope you all enjoyed your day! I kicked off the week right with a MEGA office re-organization. It is refreshing and downright re-energizing to work in such a streamlined (and might I add… stylish) space. xoxo, Angel

Responses

  1. oooh you braved that early morning shopping at the flower mart…but it looks like it was well worth it! Those anemones are so beautiful!

  2. First off, L-O-V-E the flowers you bought! Secondly, would love to see your office!

  3. The flowers you chose are beautiful, and I love the bright yellow acacia against those dark sultry anenomes. My 3rd favorite flower!!! Happy late birthday.

  4. peonies???? are those ping pong balls soon to be big white fluffy peonies? heehee so happy to see u and kris enjoying one another πŸ˜€ xoxo!

  5. oh no!! this flower market business is making me tres jealous. beautiful pics!!

  6. wow!! my sister, get up EARLY?
    WOW! even if it is to see kris…
    πŸ™‚
    LOVED your flowers!!

  7. I am sleepy just reading about your early morning flower mart adventure, and I wouldn’t even have to wake up that early because I am five minutes away…walking!

  8. i also love to have fresh flowers in my home…. i havent lived in LA for long so i didnt even know about the flower mart, i’ll definately have to check it out soon.

    and I agree with amanda….. show us your office!

  9. I wanna wake up early and buy flowers!!! Sounds (and looks) like a blast! πŸ™‚

  10. Sounds like you guys had so much fun! Love how you documented the entire adventure, including breakfast, with awesome photos!

  11. the sunny D vs water is too easy a giveaway… the angle always gets a drink!

    darling nails, btw!

  12. i see very tight peonies! how fun. love the mart, but i’ve never ever attempted going that early.

  13. It was so nice meeting both of you this last week! I am in love with your peonies…definitely one of my favorite flowers!


Leave a Reply

Categories

