Posted by: loveandsplendor | November 26, 2009

gratitude – 2009

i am covered in grace and blessed beyond measure.  how powerful is that??  and how true it is in my life…  i truly strive to acknowledge my blessings every single day and live a life of gratitude.  how often do we take people, experiences, conveniences, luxuries, and time for granted??  far too often.  i want to do my best in being thankful at all times.  i want to appreciate what i have and honor the use of what i’ve been given.

Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through Him to God the Father.

-Colossians 3:17 (NASB)

may i always give thanks to my God, my Savior, my Lord… with my life, my actions, and my mouth!

here are some things that are on my endless ‘gratitude list’ for 2009:

  • i am married to my godly, upright, tender-hearted, brilliant, silly & romantic best friend, erik.

sidenote — i am thankful for these beaaaautiful photos of me & erik, shot by my dear friend, colleague, and client! jessica claire.  see more in this post on jessica’s blog.

  • i have the best younger sister (anna banana!) anyone could hope for.  she is sassy, smart, and so.much. fun.  i love her sooo much and am delighted to have her working with me.

beautiful photos courtesy of our beloved friend, jasmine star

  • i am surrounded by amazing friends, including my BFF kristin (of the treasured petal) who is a kindred soul and encourager of my spirit.

‘toasting’ at a favorite wedding earlier this year 🙂

  • i have awesome clients who entrust me with one of the biggest events of their lives, and spur me on to continually grow & excel in this industry.  i have clients i can laugh with (so hard i cry!), cry with (definitely true this year), and dream with (pushing the limits of our vision and inspiration).  they write me humbling emails, send me macarons and feathery hair pieces, and make me feel loved every, single, day.  i have had opportunities to plan weddings all over california while simultaneously indulging in my passions and utilizing my unique strengths. i get to work with the coolest vendors ever and have made deep, lasting friendships with some incredible people i would have never met if it wasn’t for this job.
  • 2010 is going to be the most amazing year  yet for love and splendor. period!  (related hint: i am thankful for an up-to-date passport!)  wait till you see what we have in store…..
  • my daddy is alive and well, even with another health scare (a tumor) last month.  cancer free — praise the Lord!!
  • my mommy is married (for over a year now!) to an amazing man who is a beautiful complement to her.  could not dream up a better match for her…
  • i have the best in-laws EVER.  and fabulous sisters-in-law, and brother-in-law, and nephews, and cousins, and aunts/uncles, etc!  the icing on the cake?  they all live here in soCal.
  • i have a church family that is a source of fellowship, accountability, and spiritual nourishment.  i am stretched & challenged each and every week by the sermons from our pastor, as well as messages delivered by the extra good-looking college pastor.  (who happens to to also be my husband, LOL)

i’d love to know what tops your gratitude list this year!  and of course… thank YOU, dear reader, for continuing to visit me here, share in my joys and motivate me with your feedback.  i’m ever-grateful for all of you and look forward to sharing more of my love & life with you here.

Happy Thanksgiving!!

xoxo, the luckiest most blessed girl in the universe, angel

Responses

  1. I love the photos of you & Erik!!! Totally adorable..Happy Turkey Day Angel! I’m grateful for my husband, family, and great friends (like you!)

  2. Happy thanksgiving sweet friend! A beautiful post!

  3. Love you too, and blessed beyond belief to have you in my life. So happy we know who to thank at Thanksgiving! Enjoy your holiday girl!

  4. What amazing photos to showcase a great, blessed year! Love the post! I, too, am grateful and thankful for my wonderful hubby, incredible lil sis, and supportive, happy, and healthy family and friends. Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. love this!

  6. i’m thankful for:
    ruby
    my awesome sister
    my dad
    my rad job
    my homies
    the support and encouragement from my family
    my super cool bro-n-law
    God’s forgiveness
    my mommasita
    food
    shelter

    …not necessarily in that order.
    xoxo, gossip girl

  7. love this post. xoxo

  8. i love your blog! those pictures are so cute! hey– i know you love rebecca minkoff– she is having a sample sale in LA this weekend– 7692 W. 3rd St. LA, CA– from 11-8pm.

  9. hello angel 🙂

    you don’t know me…and i don’t know you either! ..but i happened to come across your website. i still don’t remember how this happened…as usual, i was looking at photographer blogs and i clicked, clicked, clicked..and found yours. anyways, i just wanted to thank you and bless you for being a great surprise encouragement to me today! God is definitely SO good and i’m so happy His love and grace can be shared and identified with between even strangers.

    i’m not married, engaged, or even close to any of those things, but i definitely enjoy your site. i’m a fan! 🙂

  10. awesome post Angel!! Glad to see you doing well and love the photos!! Hope to see you soon!

  11. Hi Angel!

    Just came across your blog and wanted to say hi. Your post reminded me that we have much to be thankful for, in the good times and in the difficult times!

    Hope you and Erik are doing well.
    Kim

  12. Hello Angel! I came across your blog from Samuel Lippke and just wanted to say how incredible it is to see another industry professional giving glory to the Lord… and being sincere about it! Love your blog and wish you all the best. 🙂

    Thanks for posting this and sharing your heart!


Leave a Reply

Categories

