Posted by: loveandsplendor | January 5, 2010

goals & decisions: my 2010 resolutions

Resolutions seem to carry a stigma with them these days.  It’s like by writing your resolutions down (or saying them out loud) puts them under a curse, never to be fulfilled.  haha  Well I have always been a bit of a risk-taker, so I thought I’d share some of my 2010 resolutions with you.  I’m dividing them up into two categories: goals and decisions.  The goals tend to be more long-term, while the decisions are outright and specific choices I’ve already made and have begun to implement.

{goals for 2010}

  • Keep my priorities in line.  My number one priority is my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  I want to live like that in every moment, everyday.  Before everything on this list, and anything else that comes my way, He comes first.
  • Run a half marathon (I have my eye on a specific one coming up…  will let you know when I’m registered!).  I am NOT a seasoned runner (by annnny stretch of the imagination), so this will be a big accomplishment for me.  I want to eventually run a full marathon, too.
  • Learn to sew more than a straight stitch on my sewing machine.  🙂  Make at least three garments and two projects this year that I am craaaazy about.
  • Brush up on my Korean.  I need more opportunities to practice using the language, as my mother always wants to speak in English with me.  haha  I may just bite the bullet and get Rosetta Stone Level 3 Korean…
  • Get at least 2 new stamps in my passport.  I already have one international trip planned for the fall…  (Hi, T!)

one of the planned stamps for my passport will come from this beautiful place. Can you recognize it??

{decisions}

  • Stop drinking soda for 2 months (I started on December 26 and will see how I feel on my birthday on March 7).  This one isn’t too tough as we never have soda in the house.  The most difficult thing is resisting an ice cold Coke or Dr. Pepper when I get my double double at In-n-Out.  I also plan on avoiding any venue that serves root beer floats, as those are another major soda-related weakness for me…
  • No french fries for 2 months.  (Again, I will re-evaluate on March 7.)  I would never pretend like I could cut them out of my life forever, but I think making this initial limitation is the hardest part.  I am one of those people who could easily polish off a basket of fries before lunch and not think a thing of it.  The goal is not weight-related, but health-related.  I want to cut back on my general love for all things fried and greasy.  🙂
  • Return to my Love and Splendor work schedule of 3 days in the office and 2 days out of the office MAX per week.  Lately I’ve been taking meetings on 3, 4, 5!!! days a week.  With all the driving I do, having two meetings quickly turns into 7 hours out of the house/office.  This means I come home at dinner time, muster up something in the kitchen, and feel about ready for bed by 9p (without having even glimpsed at my burgeoning email inbox!).  I will now return to my habit of ‘stacking’ meetings on only two days per week.  The days will change week by week, depending on the schedules of my clients.
  • Read my news in French 3x a week.  I used to read the French newspaper Le Figaro quite regularly, especially in college. (Random tidbit about me: I began learning French at age 6, I took four years of it in HS, three years of it in college, and taught French to 6-year olds at a private classical school while I lived in Berkeley.)  With most articles now posted online, I have no excuse.  I’m hoping to just maintain fluency and bulk up my vocab.
  • Take at least one day a month to recharge, renew & refresh.  This may mean a spa-day (at my favorite local spa, Ra Organic Spa), or simply a drive down the coast to spend the afternoon napping in the sand.  I want to take better care of myself in general.  🙂

What do you think?  Too safe?  Too crazy??  🙂  I look forward to sharing my victories with you throughout the year!

So tell me — what are your greatest goals and decisions this new year?

xoxo, Angel

Responses

  1. That’s Taiwan! ding ding ding!! Do i get a prize? When are you going? You should go to Hong Kong while you are there, best city ever! I have no idea you speak French, that’s so awesome. My new year resolution is to stick w/ my bridal bootcamp and work out 5 days a week. *Only 9 months away!* yay!

    • Angela ❤ You definitely win a prize! LOL I will have to think of something cute to bring to our next meeting! I have always wanted to visit HK… So many countries, so little time! BTW — You are already drop dead gorgeous; bridal bootcamp scares me! LOL xoxo

  2. your goals and decisions sound great and realistic! my korean is getting worse and worse, too. my mom tends to speak to me in english also. aigo.

  3. Ni Hao! Wo hun xihuan Taipei 🙂 You will have a blast. Such a wonderful list of resolutions. I especially love #1! Also, thanks for giving me something to think about as far as work schedule. Being smart about scheduling meetings and such will prevent burnout and give me enough time with my hubby. Thanks for sharing your goals!!! Let’s keep each other accountable!

  4. I just got back from Taiwan and it was awesome. Hope you have a great trip!

  5. yay, TAIWAN!! it’s going to be amazing! thanks for sharing your resolutions with us~ they absolutely sound realistic, and as you know my fave has to be goal #5, but only because i’m biased. 😛 mine are: 1. eat healthier/be more active (hopefully = lose a few kg before wedding!) 2. save more, spend less 3. figure out how to start and maintain a successful etsy shop! “JIA YOU” to everyone! 🙂

  6. Great post! I love that it’s “health” conscious, not weight conscious. I also love coke and fries. We don’t have an in-and-out here in Philly (or east coast) but I am so excited to finally try when I visit LA in march.

  7. These are great goals. Mine are simple. Make it to next year. I had a heart attack in November of 2008 and died for a brief time. So I am treasuring every day that I get. I have not had soda or fried foods (other than an occasional chip – hard to have chips and salsa without chips) since my heart attack. Gave up red meat as well. I have now lost 65 pounds and counting. I am about ready to start P90X. I really enjoy your blog and the wonderful pictures you share. Thank you.

  8. Yay! Love it. Happy 2010 Angel!

  9. your goals and decisions are awesome and inspiring! Rosetta Stone is pretty repetitive (we use it to teach English to second language learners at my school.) Do you have any “fobby” friends? That’s sometimes the best way to learn Korean. 😉 wow- half marathon– i ran the hb one a couple of years ago–FLAT terrain for the most part. Good luck!

  10. TAIWAN!!! Taipei 101 =) yay!

    I love all of your decisions/goals. They’re realistic. I think the problem with resolutions are some people aren’t too realistic. I will live vicariously through you for the marathon! lol

    I’m still uber impressed about the French talent you possess. hahaha Angel you’re going to have to teach me! OMG my mom will LOVE you when she meets you!

    *hugs*

  11. Hi Angel! I think I can help you brush up your Korean. 🙂 and maybe you can teach me proper English? hahahahha
    btw, I’ve been stalking your blog since last year and you have been such an inspiration to so many planners/coordinators out there! keep up the good work and I’d love to chat with you sometime!

  12. I need to brush up on my French and Korean as well! I’ve been thinking about Rosetta Stone too… For French though. I need someone to practice Korean on as well. I’ve been noticing that it just doesn’t flow out of my mouth with as much ease as before. Living in the Northwest certainly doesn’t help!

    One thing I’ve decided to do this year is read the bible in a year in chronological order. I’ve never had the discipline to do it, but this year… that is my only hard set resolution so I am not going to give up in March… like I do with everything else. 🙂

  13. Does this include fried zucchini + milkshake? 😉

  14. Love your goals and decisions! And Love Taipei 101! Best of luck!

  15. good luck with the soda…I am trying too and it’s hard. I am trying to drink more iced tea.

  16. i love the great resolutions, especially #1 as that was my resolution this year! but no fries or root beer floats…whoa!!! that would be so hard for me, i can barely give those up for lent without having rehab! (best wishes on all your goals!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

