Posted by: loveandsplendor | May 12, 2010

my marvelous mom

Hello everyone!  I hope your week is has been splendid so far!  (You guessed it — mine has!)  I had hoped to post this little entry prior to Sunday, but I’m still going to drop a small post here in honor of the wonderful woman who is my mother.  I’ll keep this short and sweet.  My mother is an incredible woman. She has endured incredible trials in her lifetime, and has now arrived in a place of admirable personal success.  She is a passionate, highly-opinionated, fiercely devoted, self-sacrificial, independent woman.  I grew up watching her work tirelessly to provide for me and my sister, and the impact she has left on me is indelible.  She would always give us the best of everything, and take the leftovers for herself.  I knew at a very young age that I was deeply loved.

Me & Mommy, circa November 1984, in Texas (where I was born!).  Umma rocking the Lacoste.

March ’85 — I’m one year old!  Me rocking some pink pants and a striped, puff-sleeve top with pandas on it.  Sweet!

She has imparted to me an strong work ethic and a desire to excel at everything I do. And of course, she has passed on her love for art and fashion to me.  I am thankful that she exposed me to so much culture from my youth.  By the time I was in junior high, I had already developed a taste for arias, classics, modern art, and haute couture.  My mommy also is utterly hilarious and if you’ve ever spent more than an hour with her, you’ve seen her silly side.  At our Mothers’ Day dinner on Sunday night, she demonstrated her “model poses” for us at the table, as well as some new dance moves.  I returned the favor by embarrassing her with my outbursts of laughter at her antics.  😉

I will never be able to fully express how grateful I am for everything my mother has done for me.  She is still my number one fan.  I know that no matter what happens, she will always be there with unconditional love and unwavering support.

Me, Mommy & Anna – on her wedding day, September ’08.  Photo by the fabulous Trista Lerit.

Umma — I love you.  Thank you for demonstrating true, sacrificial love to me.  I thank God for you everyday!

**Of course, this post would be incomplete without a shout-out to D, my amazing mother-in-law.  I hit the marriage jackpot not once but twice — first by wedding Erik, second by gaining the most incredible in-laws on the face of the planet.  You know all the stereotypes about mothers-in-law?  D is the exact opposite of all of them.  She has fully embraced me into her family from the moment I met her.  About a month before my wedding, I had a phone conversation with her that I will never, ever forget.  She is the most caring, sweet, encouraging woman and I am SO grateful to have her in my life!  Love you, mom!  🙂

xoxo, Angel

Responses

  1. Love this post.

  2. you are precious, love the sweet post. happy to have seen you! xoxo

  3. your mom looks EXACTLY the same now! her youth really has stuck by her in more ways than one….one being her incredible fashion sense.

    love this post angel!

    • I really, really, really hope I got her genes. LOL She has better skin than me!! haha

  4. You are so sweet. I love this post so much! I want to see more baby pics of you (and Anna). Can you post more? ^o^

    • hi doll! will try to put some more up sometime soon… definitely for anna’s bday post in september, too! 🙂

  5. such a sweet post~ makes me miss my own mum. 🙂 and you definitely inherited your mum’s fabulously chic style! xo

  6. what a beautiful post for your mommy! i also love all the pics!

  7. umm, i think you forgot to post some adorable baby pics of me. 😦

  8. Awwww…I love that bw pic of you guys and your mom..so glad I took it..lol 🙂 I have to agree with you..your mom DID teach you a thing or two about design & fashion 🙂

  9. My heart exploded when I read “mothers-in-law” rather than “mother-in-laws”. This is why you’re hott.

    • LOL Lizzie!!! The fact that you noticed that… is why YOU are hot. oh, and the fact that you’re a doctor! MISS YOU LIKE CRAY-JI!

  10. What a wonderful tribute to your Mom!

  11. how awesome that she took you to such historical sites as LBJ’s boyhood home! haha

    this is an incredibly cute post

  12. I accidentally found this blog and I really love this story….hope the best for ur mom and urself dear..;)


Leave a Reply

Categories

