Posted by: loveandsplendor | March 13, 2011

birthday, 2011 @ providence LA

Hello again, everyone!  I want to start off by extending heartfelt gratitude to all of you for your love & support in the wake of last week’s blog post.  🙂  Anna is feeling the love!  ❤

Now on to an exponentially happier topic: my birthday, which took place on Monday (March 7th).  I have never been one to go “all out” for my birthday, and typically prefer to spend sweet, quiet time with my family.  My Mom and Raj always take me out for a decadent birthday dinner and past celebrations have taken place at AOC, Lucques, and the Bazaar at SLS. This year, however, they surprised me with reservations at Providence.  As one of only 3 restaurants in soCal with two coveted Michelin stars (the other two are Melisse and Spago, btw), Providence is thought by many to be one of the best restaurants in Los Angeles.  They specialize in seafood and are renowned for their creative tasting menus.  They offer 5, 9 and 16 (!!!) course tasting menus, but we opted for the 5-course.  Although it was my first time at Providence, Mom and Raj have visited numerous times and insisted that the 5-course would be perfect.  The meal still took us over 2 hours and I left quite satisfied (in terms of fullness).  I recall that the 9 course menu included an additional dessert course, a cheese course, an additional entrée and additional starter.  One day I might be brave (and hungry and patient!!) enough to attempt the 16-courses…

The meal was sublime!  Here are just a few snaps I took of our five courses.  Not pictured: a wonderful amuse bouche (turnip soup with a red wine reduction + gruyère puff pastry) and their incredible breads — bacon brioche and foccacia with seaweed!!

japanese kanpachi with crispy rice crackers, Australian finger lime and crème fraîche

nancy’s down east sea scallops with buckwheat, dashi and napa cabbage

wild striped bass with brown butter, lemon and nori sauce + braised cannelini beans

marcho farms veal tenderloin with curry daikon sauce, chanterelle mushrooms, pearl onions.

raj & anna, who were veal-shy, subbed with another delicious fish…

banana bread pudding with barley ice cream (and crunchy puffed barley!) + orange sauce (i love banana anything!)

We spied Andy Richter eating at the table next to ours (with two other actors whose faces I couldn’t quite place) that night.  Interestingly enough, I also found this interview he did with CNN in which he mentions the restaurant.  😉

I had a splendid evening at Providence and look forward to my next visit.  It may be a while, though — it’s a lot nicer going when you’re not footing the bill.  😉

I hope your week is off to a lovely start!~  How was your weekend?  I spent most of mine assembling 200 intricate save-the-dates with Anna & Michelle.  Wait until you see them… They are out-of-control amazing.

Keeping the people of Japan in my prayers as they begin to recover from the devastating earthquakes + tsunami…

xoxo, Angel

Responses

  1. Squeeeeeeeee for Providence! When we went, we saw Ben Gibbard at the bar. 🙂

    • luckyyy! i probably would’ve broken my “don’t harass celebrities in public” rule if i’d seen him. 😉

  2. looks divine Angel! Can’t wait for the happa b-day celebration!

  3. Yum! Tasting menus are always the best, I think. I’ll add this to my (loooong) list of fancy places that I’d like to try at some point.

  4. this post is making me hungry!! so glad you had an amazing birthday with the family girlie!!

  5. Bry and I have been dying to try Providence. We’ve been doing the NYE’s tasting menu at Lucques every year, but this looks even yummier!

  6. Happy belated birthday Angel! So jealous you got to dine at Providence. Someday… 😉

  7. I went to Providence for my birthday in 2010! I have to say I like the Bazaar and AOC better though =) BTW, we are both pisces…my bday is Feb 21st!


Leave a Reply

Categories

